Tattoos of surprises!

Let me start off by saying that I had no idea what was going to happen today.  So today, I am simply going to share a sweet story with you.

Today I met with my tattoo artist.  No, I did not get a tattoo.  He is so gifted, that he is drawing the cover for my new book.  On my way there, I asked God, “what should I pray for?”  God clearly told me to keep it simple.  Okay, basically I was going in there to be me, and if I could bless someone I would.  I have asked God daily to send me people who need blessings.  So, I drove hoping to be able to bless, but I was not sure.

As I pulled up to the shop, I stopped the car and prayed one more time.  I went in and told myself, speak as you feel led.  Okay then, I will do just that.

There are so many people that visit tattoo shops these days that you just never know if the client getting a tattoo, and/or the person giving it is a Christian or not.  I will tell you that my artist is not a Christian, but he does believe in God.  He just hasn’t declared him personally, yet.  I have good feelings about him, so I will pray that he will become saved.

I went back and we sat with paper and a pencil and went over the title, what I wanted, how I wanted it to look, how he wanted me to thank him in  my acknowledgement section, etc.  He said he felt honored to do this for me.  He has such a sweet heart.  While we were discussing my book cover, another client came in.  I over heard her say that “tomorrow is the 5 year anniversary, so I need to do this.”  Our meeting wasn’t going to be long, so that sat to wait.  I had no idea what she was asking for, I just heard that part of the conversation.

We finished our conversation, book size of drawing, etc. and he said he would call me in a week to come in and see if I like what he’s done, need changes, etc.  I thanked him for helping me with this.  Then I said, “they are a couple, is it their 5 year anniversary?”  He can’t say to much to me, but he said, “she wanted praying hands.”  I smiled big.  He specializes in praying hands.  I didn’t know why, but I was going to talk to the next customer.

As I walked out, I said to her, “You have the best artist taking care of you.  I know you will get exactly what you want.”  She said,  “I want praying hands.  Tomorrow is the anniversary of my fathers death from cancer, and I want to do this.  I want the tattoo where his scar was.”  I looked at her and said, “I did a tribute to my father on my back a few years ago.  Do you need a hug? ”  Then, the artist opened up his book of several versions of praying hands, and she looked at one and said, “That’s it.  That is what I had in my head but I didn’t know how to describe it.  This is the exact same image in my head.”  Then she started to cry.  I asked if I could hug her.  She said she was sweaty.  I just said, “Hey, that’s okay, we’ve both lost our father’s and I love my tribute, and he’s going to do a great job with your tribute.”  She looked at me and reached her arms out and we hugged.

My tattoo artist was off to the side talking to her husband, and I started to get bold.  I said, “I don’t know if you are a Christian or not, but I just want to pray that this gives you the closure you need.”  She stated that she was a believer and she shared her Trinity tattoo, and by golly, I have one too.  We chuckled as we shared them.  I told her that I would pray for her, and I asked her if she had a church, etc.  They have just moved here, so they are looking.  I gave her a piece of paper with my blog address and told her that I hoped to hear from her.

As I type this, she is receiving her praying hands, and I hope it brings her the peace that she needs and the closure that she needs.    I also pray that my artist is being convicted every time he sees me, and now as he works on her.  I want him to believe, and with several praying for him, it can happen.  So, who knew that my ministry would be in a tattoo parlor today.  However, I knew God had planned him for my book cover, and as I look to this client, we have both lost our fathers.  My dad always said, “there is no coincidence, there are only God incidences.”  As I look at what happened, God wanted me there for her.  I am glad that I was.

You know, you never know when you are going to meet someone who just needs a blessing on there life on that day and at that moment.  I told God to just let me speak where I needed to speak, and He showed me where.

Remember, if you ask for God to work through you, He will always allow that to happen.

I hope you enjoyed my story.  This is what I felt led to share, and I hope you see that God’s blessings can be found everywhere.

Blessings to all!

7 thoughts on “Tattoos of surprises!

Leave a Reply

