Lead Me To The Cross where I’ll Stand!

Today I had a blast from the past, musically speaking.  I was driving to get my prescriptions filled, and I had on my favorite station:  KLOVE!

I had been praying to God and asking what I was to talk about today.  God had two songs played on the radio and the words started to come to me.  The first song that played was called, “Lead Me to the Cross” by Hillsong United.  Let me give you the first verse and chorus:  

Savior I come
Quiet my soul remember
Redemptions hill
Where Your blood was spilled
For my ransom
Everything I once held dear
I count it all as lost

Lead me to the cross
Where Your love poured out
Bring me to my knees
Lord I lay me down
Rid me of myself
I belong to You
Lead me, lead me to the cross

Now, just dwell on those words for a few moments while I share a few verses and the chorus of “The Stand” by Hillsong United:

You stood before creation
Eternity in Your hand
And You spoke the earth into motion
My soul now to stand

You stood before my failure
Carried the cross for my shame
My sin weighed upon Your shoulders
My soul now to stand

So what could I say?
And what could I do?
But offer this heart, O God
Completely to You

So I’ll stand, with arms high and heart abandoned
In awe of the One who gave it all
So I’ll stand, my soul, Lord, to You surrendered
All I am is Yours

Wow!  Those two songs were played back to back.  Here is what I got from this.  We all need to get to the cross.  In the first song, a couple of lines stood out:  Redemptions hill where Your blood was spilled for my ransom…..There is a Hill called Golgatha (the place of the skull).  Many crucifixions took place here.  It may be gruesome, but around those crosses are skulls.  Many never were buried after their torturous death.  People would go to see the guilt pay their sin with the worse punishment possible.  Yet, here on this hill of death, a man named Jesus (the son of God) went to a cross, was nailed to it and pierced in the side, so his would would flow and wash away our sins. Jesus died the death that you and I were meant to die.  Now, we have the chance to go there and lay at that hill, and we can have His blood poured out on us.  We NEED to have his blood poured out onto us.  It is that act of full surrender that He asks for and that He died for.  We are deserving of Hell, but by the cross, we are given Heaven.  

Once we have received the spilling of His blood on us and feel that amazing love He, literally, poured out for us, then we can stand in awe of the ONE AND ONLY GOD, who would do this for all creation.  

The next song says that:  He stood before creation, eternity in His hands, He spoke the world into motion, my soul now to stand.  Then, he states to God directly:  You stood before my failure carried the cross for my shame, my sin weighed upon Your shoulders, my soul now to stand.  And then the write says:  what should I do and what should I say?  Then the writer says:   I’ll stand, with arms high and heart abandoned, in awe of the One who gave it all. So I’ll stand, my soul, Lord, to You surrendered, all I am is Yours.  

We have been led to the cross, laid down before the cross, and has His blood pour on on us. He paid the ultimate price.  He knew our strengths and our failures, and He carried them to the cross anyway.  There was NOTHING that he didn’t die for, because He died for EVERYTHING!  So, what can I do?  I can stand in awe of the one who gave me life, and I can surrender my soul completely and wholeheartedly to Him.  

Can you believe that is all He asks?  Take a moment and think about the things in your life that “aren’t so good.”  He died for those things.  Lay yourself onto the floor and just surrender to Him, and then simple Stand, Surrender, and Thank Him for all He has done.

I am in complete awe of what God has done and continues to do for me.  Take a moment and be in awe of Him too.

Blessings,

Rebecca

4 thoughts on “Lead Me To The Cross where I’ll Stand!

    • Thank you for reading. I hope you will follow my blog. I came home and told Eric about the songs and he said, “Whoa….was it 2010 praise day on KLOVE?” LOL Thank you for visiting. It means the world to me. Love you!

Leave a Reply

