School Daze, School Days!

For many of you, you haven’t even started to think about school yet.  For me, I am a parent, mother, and teacher.  I teach in year round school, and everyone starts tomorrow!

I have just completed my first week back to work.  I have deep cleaned, set up, done lesson plans, ordered materials, etc. and I feel like I am in a school daze.  I hope that other teachers can sympathize with this part.  I have been so busy this last week getting ready, that life at school has been a daze for me.

Tomorrow as my daughter and I head back to School for our School day, I pray that I can enjoy a school day, and I pray that her school daze does not last long so that she can enjoy many School Days to come!

As a mom, I can’t believe how much my baby girl has grown.  I can’t believe her wisdom at such a young age.  As a teacher, I pray that she will respect all in authority and do her best.

What does God say about how we are to treat/teach our children?  Proverbs 13:24 ESV:  “He who spares the rod hates his son, but he who loves him is careful to discipline him.”

This does not mean that we are to be harsh with our children, but it does mean that we should love them enough to discipline them.  It is NOT the schools job to raise your child.  It is the schools job to teach your child.  In this day and age, many parents are passing off the role of parent to the teacher.  Yes, the teacher will give discipline from time to time, but we need parents who will teach/train a child in the proper way to go.  This will allow them to be successful in school, at church, with friends, at work, and in life.

As a parent, I don’t want my daughter to grow up in a daze.  I don’t want her to be educated but not know how to function in society.  I pray that she enjoys her School Days and that through them, those days become years of fruitfulness throughout her life.

 

Lord,

As a parent, we pray that our children grow up knowing right from wrong.  We pray that through discipline and instruction, that they will be guided to a fruitful future.  We pray for Days and Days of blessedness instead of Daze of confusion.  Lord, help us to train up our child and come alongside our teachers so that the children of the future get support from BOTH the school and the family.  We pray all these things in Your name!

Amen!

2 thoughts on “School Daze, School Days!

Leave a Reply

